Two More Members of Education Subcommittee, Walker Transition Team


Someone just informed me of two more members of the Education Subcommittee for the Transition Team: they are Alyse Galvin of Great Alaska Schools and Andrew Halcro, president of the Anchorage Chamber of Commerce, former state representative, and member of what turned out to be the ineffectual House Sustainable Education Task Force (a characterization I think he would agree with).


House Majority Press Conference, House Minority Leadership

On Friday, November 7 the House Majority held a press conference to discuss leadership and committee chair appointments.  Details on the appointments were sent out in an email just previous to this one.  Below are a few remarks from Speaker Chenault at the press conference.


Senate Majority Announces Leadership for the 29th Alaska State Legislature

The Senate Majority held a press conference Wednesday afternoon to announce their leadership positions.  Senator Kevin Meyer will be the senate president for the 29th Alaska State Legislature.  They also announced committee chairs and several members of the Senate Finance Committee.  See the attached report

Thursday, August 14, 2014 Administrative Regulation Review Committee

Below is a report on Thursday’s Administrative Regulation Review Committee.  The committee met to review proposed Dept. of Education & Early Development regulations for repealing the High School Graduation Qualifying Exam (HSGQE) and implementing required testing for students using the ACT, SAT, and WorkKeys. 


Update on Studies Required by HB 278 & Upcoming Hearings

Below is an update on the studies required by HB 278:

·        School Design & Construction Study, DEED: A request for proposals and award of the bid will be completed by fall, 2014.  The contractor will then have six to eight months to complete the study.  The study is due to the legislature by June 15, 2015.

·        Salary & Benefits Study, Dept. of Administration: Study not yet begun.  I’m waiting to hear back from the Dept. of Administration on a timeline for the study.